Browse Dog grooming records · Compare two itemized quotes · Method and corrections

The evidence table, explorer and exported rows share these records. Narrative examples retain their stated dates and assumptions. Coverage is limited to the listed providers and scope; no local quote or national average is implied.
Dog-grooming prices depend on the package, size band, coat and service location; the selected menus below are not a national typical-price range. For a directly published chain benchmark, Petco lists full-service baths starting at $24 to $51 by dog size and bath-with-haircut packages starting at $46 to $97. Those are starting prices, not guaranteed totals: coat condition, breed styling, behavior, location, and approved add-ons can raise the bill.
Published Grooming Menu Evidence
| Provider / location | Amount / unit | Scope / task | Checked / source |
|---|---|---|---|
| PetcoDog grooming | US; local market and booking quote vary | From USD 24.00starting appointment price | bath only; dog size 1-10 lbScope and limitsIncluded: Not specified Excluded / confirm: Approved coat-condition or optional charges; Tax if applicable Provider table starting price; hair length, local market and selected service determine booking price. Record: petco-110lb-bath-only-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| PetcoDog grooming | US; local market and booking quote vary | From USD 46.00starting appointment price | bath and cut; dog size 1-10 lbScope and limitsIncluded: Not specified Excluded / confirm: Approved coat-condition or optional charges; Tax if applicable Provider table starting price; hair length, local market and selected service determine booking price. Record: petco-110lb-bath-and-cut-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| PetcoDog grooming | US; local market and booking quote vary | From USD 28.00starting appointment price | bath only; dog size 11-25 lbScope and limitsIncluded: Not specified Excluded / confirm: Approved coat-condition or optional charges; Tax if applicable Provider table starting price; hair length, local market and selected service determine booking price. Record: petco-1125lb-bath-only-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| PetcoDog grooming | US; local market and booking quote vary | From USD 50.00starting appointment price | bath and cut; dog size 11-25 lbScope and limitsIncluded: Not specified Excluded / confirm: Approved coat-condition or optional charges; Tax if applicable Provider table starting price; hair length, local market and selected service determine booking price. Record: petco-1125lb-bath-and-cut-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| PetcoDog grooming | US; local market and booking quote vary | From USD 32.00starting appointment price | bath only; dog size 26-50 lbScope and limitsIncluded: Not specified Excluded / confirm: Approved coat-condition or optional charges; Tax if applicable Provider table starting price; hair length, local market and selected service determine booking price. Record: petco-2650lb-bath-only-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| PetcoDog grooming | US; local market and booking quote vary | From USD 57.00starting appointment price | bath and cut; dog size 26-50 lbScope and limitsIncluded: Not specified Excluded / confirm: Approved coat-condition or optional charges; Tax if applicable Provider table starting price; hair length, local market and selected service determine booking price. Record: petco-2650lb-bath-and-cut-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| PetcoDog grooming | US; local market and booking quote vary | From USD 39.00starting appointment price | bath only; dog size 51-80 lbScope and limitsIncluded: Not specified Excluded / confirm: Approved coat-condition or optional charges; Tax if applicable Provider table starting price; hair length, local market and selected service determine booking price. Record: petco-5180lb-bath-only-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| PetcoDog grooming | US; local market and booking quote vary | From USD 68.00starting appointment price | bath and cut; dog size 51-80 lbScope and limitsIncluded: Not specified Excluded / confirm: Approved coat-condition or optional charges; Tax if applicable Provider table starting price; hair length, local market and selected service determine booking price. Record: petco-5180lb-bath-and-cut-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| PetcoDog grooming | US; local market and booking quote vary | From USD 44.00starting appointment price | bath only; dog size 81-99 lbScope and limitsIncluded: Not specified Excluded / confirm: Approved coat-condition or optional charges; Tax if applicable Provider table starting price; hair length, local market and selected service determine booking price. Record: petco-8199lb-bath-only-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| PetcoDog grooming | US; local market and booking quote vary | From USD 66.00starting appointment price | bath and cut; dog size 81-99 lbScope and limitsIncluded: Not specified Excluded / confirm: Approved coat-condition or optional charges; Tax if applicable Provider table starting price; hair length, local market and selected service determine booking price. Record: petco-8199lb-bath-and-cut-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| PetcoDog grooming | US; local market and booking quote vary | From USD 51.00starting appointment price | bath only; dog size 100+ lbScope and limitsIncluded: Not specified Excluded / confirm: Approved coat-condition or optional charges; Tax if applicable Provider table starting price; hair length, local market and selected service determine booking price. Record: petco-100lb-bath-only-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| PetcoDog grooming | US; local market and booking quote vary | From USD 97.00starting appointment price | bath and cut; dog size 100+ lbScope and limitsIncluded: Not specified Excluded / confirm: Approved coat-condition or optional charges; Tax if applicable Provider table starting price; hair length, local market and selected service determine booking price. Record: petco-100lb-bath-and-cut-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| K-Pup Mobile GroomingDog grooming | Listed southern Maine service towns, US | USD 85.00published mobile Full Groom menu | Full Groom for up to 24 lb; travel included within listed service areaScope and limitsIncluded: Bath and brush package; Haircut; Nail trim and smooth finish; Travel within service area Excluded / confirm: Coat-condition extras or a different coat package; Unconfirmed tax Uses main Full Groom package table only. Size bands differ from Petco; no same-city price or quality ranking. Confirm address coverage and coat package. Record: kpup-full-upto24lb-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| K-Pup Mobile GroomingDog grooming | Listed southern Maine service towns, US | USD 100.00published mobile Full Groom menu | Full Groom for 25-50 lb; travel included within listed service areaScope and limitsIncluded: Bath and brush package; Haircut; Nail trim and smooth finish; Travel within service area Excluded / confirm: Coat-condition extras or a different coat package; Unconfirmed tax Uses main Full Groom package table only. Size bands differ from Petco; no same-city price or quality ranking. Confirm address coverage and coat package. Record: kpup-full-2550lb-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| K-Pup Mobile GroomingDog grooming | Listed southern Maine service towns, US | USD 120.00published mobile Full Groom menu | Full Groom for 51-74 lb; travel included within listed service areaScope and limitsIncluded: Bath and brush package; Haircut; Nail trim and smooth finish; Travel within service area Excluded / confirm: Coat-condition extras or a different coat package; Unconfirmed tax Uses main Full Groom package table only. Size bands differ from Petco; no same-city price or quality ranking. Confirm address coverage and coat package. Record: kpup-full-5174lb-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
| K-Pup Mobile GroomingDog grooming | Listed southern Maine service towns, US | USD 145.00published mobile Full Groom menu | Full Groom for 75+ lb; travel included within listed service areaScope and limitsIncluded: Bath and brush package; Haircut; Nail trim and smooth finish; Travel within service area Excluded / confirm: Coat-condition extras or a different coat package; Unconfirmed tax Uses main Full Groom package table only. Size bands differ from Petco; no same-city price or quality ranking. Confirm address coverage and coat package. Record: kpup-full-75lb-20261019. Effective date: Not established. | Dated observation; confirm current quoteOriginal source |
Evidence dates: the original Petco observations were recorded September 28, 2026; the October 19 records below recheck Petco and add K-Pup. Each row retains its own date. These menus show how each provider varies pricing by service and size band. It is not a national market average and does not represent every salon. Verify the current local booking quote before relying on it.
Turn A Starting Price Into A Real Quote
| Quote component | Information to give the groomer | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Base service | Bath only, bath and haircut, sanitary trim, nail service, or self-wash | Haircuts require substantially more labor than baths |
| Dog profile | Breed or mix, current weight, age, and mobility | Size and safe handling time affect the appointment |
| Coat | Length, texture, double coat, shedding, tangles, and visible mats | Drying, brushing, clipping, and de-matting time differ sharply |
| Desired result | Maintenance cut, breed pattern, hand scissoring, or simple outline trim | Complex styling takes longer |
| Behavior and health | Anxiety, bite history, sensitivity, senior needs, and relevant veterinary guidance | The groomer may need extra time, breaks, or a different service plan |
| Add-ons | De-shedding, teeth brushing, specialty shampoo, nail buffing, or other extras | Optional services should be approved and priced separately |
Ask for a price range after the groomer reviews this information. If the coat cannot be evaluated remotely, ask what conditions would move the appointment above the quoted range and whether the salon will obtain approval before adding charges.
Why Two Similar-Size Dogs Can Cost Different Amounts
Weight is only one input. A short-coated 50-pound dog may need a straightforward bath, drying, nails, and ears. A 25-pound curly-coated dog may require careful brushing, clipping, scissoring, and a defined style. Severe matting can make ordinary brushing unsafe or unrealistic, leading to extra labor or a shorter clip. Heavy undercoat can add drying and de-shedding time. The honest comparison is minutes and tasks required, not weight alone.
Estimate The Annual Grooming Budget
| Planning step | Calculation |
|---|---|
| Routine appointment | Local base quote plus normally used add-ons |
| Visits per year | 52 divided by the number of weeks between appointments |
| Annual salon cost | Routine appointment cost multiplied by visits per year |
| At-home supplies | Brushes, combs, pet-safe shampoo, nail tools, and replacement supplies |
| Contingency | Allow for one coat-condition or special-handling surcharge rather than assuming every visit stays at the minimum |
Example: a $65 maintenance groom every six weeks is about 8.7 visits per year, or roughly $566 before tips, occasional add-ons, and supplies. This is a calculation example, not a market price. Replace the inputs with the written quote and interval appropriate for your dog.
Choose The Right Service Format
| Format | Often makes sense when | Cost tradeoff |
|---|---|---|
| Self-service wash | The dog needs bathing but not professional clipping, and the owner can handle the work safely | Lower cash price, more owner time and labor |
| High-volume salon | The dog tolerates a standard salon process and the desired service fits a published package | Often provides clear starting prices |
| Independent salon | You want continuity with one groomer or specialized coat work | Pricing and inclusions vary by business |
| Mobile or one-on-one grooming | Travel, noise, waiting, or a busy salon is difficult for the dog | Convenience and dedicated time usually cost more |
| Veterinary grooming | Medical issues or a veterinarian-directed plan require clinical support | May involve separate medical charges |
Prevent Avoidable Surcharges Safely
- Brush on a schedule appropriate for the coat instead of waiting for tight mats.
- Book before the coat becomes unmanageable and keep regular appointments when the style requires them.
- Describe coat condition and behavior honestly at booking.
- Choose a practical maintenance cut when an elaborate style does not fit the budget.
- Keep required vaccination records current.
- Do not cut mats close to the skin at home; a professional can assess the safer option.
Questions To Ask Before The Appointment
What is included in the base package?
Confirm bathing, drying, brushing, haircut or trim, nails, ears, gland service if offered, and any finishing products. Packages differ, so ask the groomer to list inclusions.
How will price changes be approved?
Ask the salon to contact you before adding de-matting, de-shedding, specialty products, or handling charges beyond the agreed range.
How often should a dog be professionally groomed?
The interval depends on coat type, haircut, shedding, lifestyle, and home maintenance. Long or curly coats often need closer scheduling than short coats. Let the dog’s coat and a qualified groomer’s recommendation determine the interval rather than using one rule for every breed.
Method And Sources
CostFAQ reviewed Petco’s published size-based starting prices and corporate service descriptions on September 28, 2026, then separated the provider menu from the broader planning range. The original September edition used one national chain. The October 19 update added K-Pup’s independent mobile menu. These two providers still form a small, geographically mixed sample, so they cannot establish a national range or the mobile-service premium for an identical local job. Sources: Petco dog grooming services and prices, Petco corporate grooming description, and 2026 industry range check.
Independent mobile evidence and size boundaries
K-Pup’s southern Maine main Full Groom menu lists $85, $100, $120 and $145 across its four size bands, with travel inside its listed service area. Petco’s menu uses six different weight bands. These are different locations and appointment formats, so their starting figures cannot establish the mobile premium for one identical dog in one city.
For example, an 11-24 lb dog fits K-Pup’s small band and Petco’s small band, but coat package, address, haircut and approved extras still need matching. Request two local written quotes using the same dog profile before choosing by total. The shared records above link directly to the respective published menus.
October 19, 2026: added the independent mobile menu and rechecked Petco’s size table. Older September observations retain their dates. Coverage remains a limited provider sample, not a national survey.
Price History
These are dated snapshots, not a continuous price index. Compare only the same provider, location, service and unit. A different scope or an unchanged recheck does not establish a market price trend.
| Date | Price measured | Observed price | Unit | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 28, 2026 | Professional dog-grooming visit | $25-$120 | per visit | Petco service menu, Petco corporate grooming, GroomBoard |
| Sep 28, 2026 | Full-service bath starting prices | $24-$51 | per visit | Petco service menu, Petco corporate grooming, GroomBoard |
| Sep 28, 2026 | Bath and haircut starting prices | $46-$97 | per visit | Petco service menu, Petco corporate grooming, GroomBoard |
| Sep 28, 2026 | Nail trim starting price | From $12 | per service | Petco service menu, Petco corporate grooming, GroomBoard |
| Sep 28, 2026 | Self-service wash starting price | From $20 | per visit | Petco service menu, Petco corporate grooming, GroomBoard |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Professional dog-grooming visit | $25-$120 | per visit | Petco service menu, Petco corporate grooming |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Full-service bath starting prices | $24-$51 | per visit | Petco service menu, Petco corporate grooming |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Bath and haircut starting prices | $46-$97 | per visit | Petco service menu, Petco corporate grooming |